← All companies

The question

Is Amazon gay?

It's complicated.

Amazon retains explicit sexual-orientation and gender-identity employment protections. Its 2025 removal of a dedicated LGBTQ+ rights policy section was a retreat in public advocacy, although its current policy page still rejects inequitable treatment of LGBTQ+ people.

Reviewed Sep 7, 2026 · Rulebook 2.0

SupportOpposition

An assessment of the record, not a score.

Who owns it?
Amazon.com, Inc.

Public company with founder Jeffrey Bezos as executive chair; no corporate parent identified

Show me the receipts 5 sources

For the yes.

  • May 8, 2025 · Current record

    Amazon's May 2025 US/Canada EEO policy lists sexual orientation and gender identity or expression among protected characteristics.

    Amazon.com, Inc.. Evidence names company directly; geographic scope stated in claim.

    Documented action within three-year review window; no verified reversal.

  • Date not stated · Current record

    Amazon's current policy page rejects inequitable treatment of LGBTQ+ people and says it advocates policies removing barriers to equity.

    Amazon.com, Inc.. Evidence names company directly; geographic scope stated in claim.

    Current corporate policy publicly available at review.

For the no. Or the pause.

  • Jan 10, 2025 · Current record

    Amazon removed the dedicated LGBTQ+ rights section from its public policy positions page in early 2025.

    Amazon.com, Inc.. Evidence names company directly; geographic scope stated in claim.

    Documented action within three-year review window; no verified reversal.

The source file Dates & excerpts
  1. Amazon 2025 Proxy Statement

    Amazon / SEC · Publication date not stated · Opened Sep 7, 2026

    Founder and Executive Chair
  2. Equal Employment Opportunity Policy (Excerpt – Canada and US)

    Amazon · Published May 8, 2025 · Opened Sep 7, 2026

    Gender identity or expression
  3. Amazon's Policy Positions

    Amazon · Publication date not stated · Opened Sep 7, 2026

    inequitable treatment of anyone—including Black people, LGBTQ+ people, Asians, women, and others—is unacceptable
  4. Amazon cuts mentions of DEI and LGBTQ rights from public policies

    The Washington Post · Published Jan 10, 2025 · Opened Sep 7, 2026

    Sections titled “Equity for Black people” and “LGBTQ+ rights” were removed
  5. Amazon is halting some of its diversity and inclusion programs

    Bloomberg via Tech Xplore · Published Jan 13, 2025 · Opened Sep 7, 2026

    recently eliminated specific sections titled Equity for Black people and LGBTQ+ rights.
What we checked Research & limits

ownership

Opened proxy; public corporation and executive chair identified.

Search: Amazon investor 2025 proxy beneficial ownership Bezos

Checked source 1

policies

Current EEO read; no inference of removed medical coverage from changed webpage.

Search: site.aboutamazon.com LGBTQ Pride 2025 benefits nondiscrimination

Checked source 1 Checked source 2

giving

Search returned older Pride material and current policy; no qualifying recent giving amount established. MacKenzie Scott personal philanthropy excluded.

Search: Amazon LGBTQ 2025 2026 benefits Pride funding cuts PAC HRC ownership

Checked source 1

politics

Opened disclosure index; no exhaustive recipient audit or opposition claim based on party.

Search: Amazon political contributions policy PAC 2025

Checked source 1

assessments

Latest HRC report direct fetch blocked; score not asserted.

Search: Amazon LGBTQ 2025 2026 benefits Pride funding cuts PAC HRC ownership

Checked source 1

reversals

Two reports support specific LGBTQ advocacy removal; current page retains a general inclusive statement. No claim of all LGBTQ protections ending.

Search: Amazon LGBTQ removed policy 2025 Bloomberg Reuters

Checked source 1 Checked source 2 Checked source 3

Limitations

  • Public advocacy retreat does not prove transgender healthcare was discontinued.
  • PAC recipients and current LGBTQ giving not exhaustively established.
  • HRC direct fetch blocked.

Revision 1. Initial review under methodology 2.0 Independently checked with Astra on Sep 7, 2026. Verification applies to this exact saved revision.

Something changed? We want the receipt.

Send a correction ↗