← All companies

The question

Is AT&T gay?

Not enough evidence.

AT&T retains explicit LGBTQ+ employment protections, but credible reporting says it ended Trevor Project and Pride-program funding in 2025. The named funding cuts could change the verdict; independent corroboration was not established during this review.

Reviewed Sep 7, 2026 · Rulebook 2.0

SupportOpposition

Too little evidence to tip the scale.

Who owns it?
AT&T Inc.

Public company; no corporate parent identified in 2026 proxy

Show me the receipts 4 sources

For the yes.

  • Date not stated · Current record

    AT&T's current globally applicable EEO and anti-harassment policy protects sexual orientation, gender identity and gender expression.

    AT&T Inc.. Direct corporate policy or action of listed US company.

    Current official policy or latest located benefit guide.

For the no. Or the pause.

No qualifying opposition or retreat established in this review. See the search record and its limitations below.

The source file Dates & excerpts
  1. 2026 AT&T Proxy Statement

    AT&T / SEC · Publication date not stated · Opened Sep 7, 2026

    AT&T
  2. Human Rights

    AT&T · Publication date not stated · Opened Sep 7, 2026

    sexual orientation, gender, gender identity, gender expression
  3. AT&T Drops Pronoun Pins, Cancels Pride Programs in DEI Unwind

    Bloomberg · Published Mar 7, 2025 · Opened Sep 7, 2026

    The company will no longer fund the Trevor Project
  4. December 1, 2025 letter to FCC

    AT&T · Published Dec 1, 2025 · Opened Sep 7, 2026

    have discontinued sponsorships that are not aligned to our current business strategy.
What we checked Research & limits

ownership

Current proxy read; AT&T independently listed.

Search: AT&T Verizon 2026 proxy statement

Checked source 1

policies

Current explicit employment protection read.

Search: site.att.com "sexual orientation" "gender identity" policy

Checked source 1

giving

Bloomberg readable portion reports named cuts; Mobile World Live independently obtained generic spokesperson response but named facts derive from Bloomberg.

Search: AT&T withdrew Trevor Project Turn Up Love March 2025

Checked source 1 Checked source 2

politics

Read current political engagement framework; employee PAC distinguished from corporate giving; not full recipient audit.

Search: AT&T LGBT policy Pride 2025 2026 donation political DEI

Checked source 1

assessments

HRC blocked. FCC letter confirms ending recognition surveys based on protected characteristics, not removal of EEO coverage.

Search: AT&T Verizon T-Mobile DEI 2025 FCC LGBTQ employee resource groups

Checked source 1 Checked source 2

reversals

Repeated targeted checks did not establish independent corroboration for named LGBTQ funding cuts. Uncertainty is material, recorded explicitly.

Search: "AT&T" "Trevor Project" "2025" "statement"

Checked source 1 Checked source 2 Checked source 3

Still unresolved

  • Bloomberg reports 2025 cessation of Trevor Project and Turn Up the Love funding. Alternate articles reviewed derive from Bloomberg; the official FCC letter confirms unspecified sponsorship cuts but does not identify LGBTQ recipients. This potentially material retreat remains unresolved under the independent-corroboration rule.

Limitations

  • Named retreat has one independent reporting source; generic corporate confirmation cannot prove specific beneficiaries.
  • HRC blocked; no complete donor-recipient audit.

Revision 1. Initial review under methodology 2.0 Independently checked with Astra on Sep 7, 2026. Verification applies to this exact saved revision.

Something changed? We want the receipt.

Send a correction ↗