The question
Is Gap gay?
Yes.
Gap publishes explicit LGBTQ-inclusive customer protections. Reporting about a missing 2025 Pride collection does not by itself establish withdrawal of substantive support.
Reviewed Sep 7, 2026 · Rulebook 2.0
An assessment of the record, not a score.
Gap is a brand of Gap Inc.
Show me the receipts 2 sources
For the yes.
Gap's current Customer Bill of Rights prohibits profiling, explicitly including sexual orientation and gender identity.
Gap Inc.. Applies directly to the named operating company.
Live official page checked on 2026-09-07.
For the no. Or the pause.
No qualifying opposition or retreat established in this review. See the search record and its limitations below.
The source file Dates & excerpts
- Gap Inc. Home ↗
Gap Inc. · Publication date not stated · Opened Sep 7, 2026
Old Navy, Gap, Banana Republic, and Athleta
- Customer Bill of Rights ↗
Gap Inc. · Publication date not stated · Opened Sep 7, 2026
sexual orientation, gender identity
What we checked Research & limits
ownership
Official entity/brand relationship established.
Search: Direct official ownership page check
Checked source 1 ↗policies
Current customer policy directly names Gap. Employment privacy policy protects sexual orientation; code PDF failed to open. Giving query returned unrelated results; no donation amount asserted.
Search: "Gap Inc." LGBTQ 2025 2026 support rollback donations
Checked source 1 ↗giving
Current customer policy directly names Gap. Employment privacy policy protects sexual orientation; code PDF failed to open. Giving query returned unrelated results; no donation amount asserted.
Search: "Gap" "2025" "Pride" "donation"
Checked source 1 ↗politics
No specific current LGBTQ-opposing corporate/PAC transaction substantiated in results; no inference from political party.
Search: "Gap" "2025" "Pride" "donation"
assessments
Current customer policy directly names Gap. Employment privacy policy protects sexual orientation; code PDF failed to open. Giving query returned unrelated results; no donation amount asserted.
Search: "Gap" "2025" "Pride" "donation"
reversals
Current customer policy directly names Gap. Employment privacy policy protects sexual orientation; code PDF failed to open. Giving query returned unrelated results; no donation amount asserted.
Search: "Gap Inc." LGBTQ 2025 2026 support rollback donations
politics
Opened 2025 proxy Political Engagement Policy section. Company political contributions are board-reviewed; Gap Good Government Fund is separately employee-funded. No specific LGBTQ-opposing transaction was established in this bounded check; this is not a donor-by-donor audit.
Search: site.gapinc.com political contributions policy 2025 PAC LGBTQ
Checked source 1 ↗assessments
Opened Gap Inc. row in 2025 appendix, page 13: 80 in 2025 versus 95 in 2023, without a withdrawal asterisk. The reason for the score difference was not established, so no specific retreat is inferred and no 2026 score is claimed.
Search: site.hrc.org Gap Inc Corporate Equality Index 2025 2026; opened official 2025 appendix
Checked source 1 ↗Limitations
- Political searches do not constitute a transaction-level PAC audit. Public policies are not an audit of individual experiences.
- Current customer policy directly names Gap. Employment privacy policy protects sexual orientation; code PDF failed to open. Giving query returned unrelated results; no donation amount asserted.
Revision 2. Independent review correction: added targeted political/PAC and HRC searches with opened primary documents and limits. Independently checked with Astra on Sep 7, 2026. Verification applies to this exact saved revision.
Something changed? We want the receipt.
Send a correction ↗