The question
It's complicated.
Lowe's current code prohibits discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity. HRC's 2025 appendix marks the company as no longer submitting information to its workplace index, a retreat in public accountability while workplace protections remain.
Reviewed Sep 7, 2026 · Rulebook 2.0
An assessment of the record, not a score.
Public company with dispersed institutional and individual shareholders.
The current Lowe's code prohibits discrimination or harassment based on gender identity and sexual orientation.
Lowe's Companies, Inc.. Direct corporate evidence for the listed entity.
Policy or program remains published on the current official website, opened September 7, 2026.
HRC's 2025 employer appendix marks Lowe's with an asterisk identifying employers that stopped submitting information to the Corporate Equality Index.
Lowe's Companies, Inc.. Direct corporate evidence for the listed entity.
The 2025 primary participation record is within the review window; no resumption was established. This does not establish any loss of employee benefits.
Lowe's Companies, Inc. · Published Apr 15, 2026 · Opened Sep 7, 2026
The Vanguard Group
Lowe's Companies, Inc. · Publication date not stated · Opened Sep 7, 2026
Sex, gender or gender identity
Associated Press · Publication date not stated · Opened Sep 7, 2026
The retailer also will no longer participate in the HRC index
Lowe's Companies, Inc. · Publication date not stated · Opened Sep 7, 2026
Political Action Committee
Human Rights Campaign Foundation · Publication date not stated · Opened Sep 7, 2026
no longer submitting information to the HRC Foundation’s CEI survey.
2026 proxy identifies shareholders and governance; no corporate parent inferred from minority holdings.
Search: Lowe Companies 2025 code ethics sexual orientation gender identity political contributions
Checked source 1 ↗Followed current Code of Conduct link, not just superseded 2023 PDF. Both categories retained.
Search: Direct current governance-page code check
Checked source 1 ↗ Checked source 2 ↗AP describes sponsorship retrenchment; only independently corroborated HRC withdrawal is asserted as decisive claim. Verification correction: AP and Axios were not treated as two independent confirmations. The withdrawal claim now relies on the opened primary HRC appendix, page 19.
Search: Lowe's LGBTQ 2024 2025 HRC Pride policy retreat
Checked source 1 ↗ Checked source 2 ↗ Checked source 3 ↗Opened official political policy identifying company/PAC oversight; no LGBTQ-specific opposing contribution proved.
Search: Lowe Companies 2025 code ethics sexual orientation gender identity political contributions
Checked source 1 ↗HRC reports failed to open; withdrawal is supported by reporting, no current score asserted. Verification correction: AP and Axios were not treated as two independent confirmations. The withdrawal claim now relies on the opened primary HRC appendix, page 19.
Search: Direct check HRC Corporate Equality Index 2025 and 2026
Checked source 1 ↗ Checked source 2 ↗ Checked source 3 ↗ Checked source 4 ↗ Checked source 5 ↗Retreat corroborated across AP and Axios, current protections separately checked. Verification correction: AP and Axios were not treated as two independent confirmations. The withdrawal claim now relies on the opened primary HRC appendix, page 19.
Search: Lowe's LGBTQ 2024 2025 HRC Pride policy retreat
Checked source 1 ↗ Checked source 2 ↗ Checked source 3 ↗ Checked source 4 ↗Revision 2. Independent review correction: replaced assumed reporting independence with direct HRC participation evidence; removed unsupported precise event date. Independently checked with Astra on Sep 7, 2026. Verification applies to this exact saved revision.
Something changed? We want the receipt.
Send a correction ↗