← All companies

The question

Is Walmart gay?

It's complicated.

Walmart retains explicit LGBTQ nondiscrimination protections, but ended participation in HRC's workplace index and withdrew Spokane Pride funding in 2025.

Reviewed Sep 7, 2026 · Rulebook 2.0

SupportOpposition

An assessment of the record, not a score.

Who owns it?
Walmart Inc.

Public company with substantial Walton-family influence: 2026 proxy reports Walton Enterprises beneficial ownership of 44.11%, including trust shares under its voting proxy. Those overlapping trust shares are not added twice.

Show me the receipts 5 sources

For the yes.

  • Date not stated · Current record

    Walmart's current code prohibits discrimination and harassment based on sexual orientation and gender identity or expression.

    Walmart Inc.. Direct named-company policy or specifically identified regional corporate action.

    Current official policy verified through corporate governance site, or 2025 action within three-year review window.

For the no. Or the pause.

  • Date not stated · Current record

    Walmart withdrew funding from Spokane Pride in 2025; this is a specific event funding retreat, not a claim that all LGBTQ programs ended.

    Walmart Inc.. Direct named-company policy or specifically identified regional corporate action.

    Current official policy verified through corporate governance site, or 2025 action within three-year review window.

  • Date not stated · Current record

    Walmart stopped submitting information to HRC's Corporate Equality Index, documented by the 2025 appendix asterisk. This is retreat from external LGBTQ workplace accountability, not proof that employee benefits were removed.

    Walmart Inc.. Direct named-company policy or specifically identified regional corporate action.

    2025 HRC appendix explicitly marks discontinued submissions; no resumption established.

The source file Dates & excerpts
  1. 2026 Proxy Statement

    Walmart · Publication date not stated · Opened Sep 7, 2026

    44.11%
  2. Code of Conduct: Build Trust with Our Associates

    Walmart · Publication date not stated · Opened Sep 7, 2026

    Sex, Gender Identity or Expression
  3. Spokane's Pride festival fills downtown streets

    Spokane Public Radio / Spokesman-Review · Published Jun 15, 2025 · Opened Sep 7, 2026

    Walmart, Verizon Wireless and Anheuser-Busch
  4. 2025 Rising Stars: Matthew Danielson

    Spokane Journal of Business · Published Sep 11, 2025 · Opened Sep 7, 2026

    including Walmart, Verizon, and Anheuser-Busch
  5. 2025 Corporate Equality Index Appendix A

    Human Rights Campaign Foundation · Publication date not stated · Opened Sep 7, 2026

    Walmart Inc.*
What we checked Research & limits

ownership

Initial SEC and asset URL fetches failed; official release's short PDF URL worked. Read family ownership and avoid double counting trust shares.

Search: Walmart 2026 proxy Walton ownership

Checked source 1 Checked source 2

policies

Old deep link redirects; replacement current code explicitly retains LGBTQ protections.

Search: Walmart 2026 code conduct "sexual orientation"

Checked source 1

giving

Read two independent local accounts of lost sponsorship.

Search: Walmart Spokane Pride 2025 withdrew funding

Checked source 1 Checked source 2

politics

Read FY2026 political engagement framework; family and corporate/PAC spending not conflated.

Search: Walmart 2026 LGBTQ HRC political contributions

Checked source 1

assessments

Read 2025 appendix score 90 and explicit withdrawn-submission asterisk. No current 2026 score asserted.

Search: Walmart 2026 LGBTQ HRC political contributions

Checked source 1

reversals

Reviewed 2024 broader rollback reporting including marketplace and Pride grant review. Decisive narrower findings are documented CEI withdrawal and specific Spokane funding loss.

Search: Walmart LGBTQ 2025 2026 policy Pride rollback

Checked source 1 Checked source 2 Checked source 3 Checked source 4

Limitations

  • Spokane funding finding applies to 2025; no all-region termination inferred.
  • 2025 appendix is dated assessment, not a 2026 benefit audit.
  • No exhaustive corporate, PAC, foundation or family-spending audit.

Revision 1. Initial review under methodology 2.0 Independently checked with Astra on Sep 7, 2026. Verification applies to this exact saved revision.

Something changed? We want the receipt.

Send a correction ↗